[vc_row][vc_column][vc_single_image image=”5449″ img_size=”large” add_caption=”yes” alignment=”center”][/vc_column][/vc_row][vc_row][vc_column][vc_column_text]

By Deb Zynomirski

To The Haldimand Press

DUNNVILLE—A big thank you is in order for the many individuals that made it possible to plant Dunnville’s many public flower beds.

The Dunnville Horticultural Society (DHS)’s board of directors (Debbie Thomas, Petra Kruis-Daly, Nelly Engelage, Gloria Hunter, Angela Latham, Colleen O’Reilly, and Deb Zynomirski), along with volunteers from our membership and the public (Mary Lou Johnston, Steve Elgersma, Ron Richards, Jim Chambers, Shaunasy Thomas, Bruce Burton, Ellen Guenther, Pat Henderson, Diane Blanchard-Smith, Ken Sherwood, Beth Powell, and Cory Swick), banded together for three days to ensure that all 15 flower gardens would be brimming with colour this summer.

With the advent of COVID-19, and current restrictions on gathering sizes, the normal one-day planting event had to be reconfigured into three days. Our hardy and hard-working volunteers rolled with the changes and made it all happen seamlessly.

Konkle’s Greenhouses generously donated all the annuals once again, as they have done for many years now. In addition, Charlie Hartsell of Egger Truck and Machine  provides watering services throughout the growing season. Kudos to these great community business partners!

Volunteers will also work throughout the summer to weed all these flower gardens, so take time to thank them for their efforts when you see them working in the gardens.

Finally, we want to thank Haldimand County staff who, despite some temporary layoffs, have chosen to be out working in our County parks. They have been busy weeding and tidying up, so you can enjoy those public spaces. Thank you!

2020 will go down in history as a most unusual year, with upheavals of every kind to our daily lives. On behalf of DHS, we hope you will find some comfort and enjoyment from the beauty we worked so hard to provide for our community.

Deb Zynomirski is the President of the Dunnville Horticultural Society.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *